Size / / /

And in the week's other awards news, the Science Fiction Research Association has announced its winners:

Pilgrim Award for lifetime contribution to SF/F studies: Pamela Sargent

Pioneer Award for outstanding essay-length work of the year: David M. Higgins, "Toward a Cosmopolitan Science Fiction", American Literature 83.2 (June 2011)

Pioneer Honorable Mentions: Everett Hamner for "The Predisposed Agency of Genomic Fiction", American Literature 83.2 (June 2011), and Heather Latimer for "Reproductive Technologies, Fetal Icons, and Genetic Freaks: Shelley Jackson's Patchwork Girl and the Limits of Possibilities of Donna Haraway's Cyborg", Modern Fiction Studies 57.2 (Summer 2011)

Thomas D. Clareson Award for Distinguished Service: Art Evans

Mary Kay Bray Award, for the best essay, interview, or extended review in the past year’s SFRA Review: T. S. Miller: "Review of Rise of the Planet of the Apes"

Mary Kay Bray Honorable Mention: Lars Schmeink for "Video Games Studies 101"

Student Essay Award, for best student paper presented at the previous year’s SFRA conference: Florian Bast: "Fantastic Voices: Octavia Butler's First-Person Narrators and 'The Evening and the Morning and the Night'"

Congratulations to all the winners, particularly T.S. Miller who has of course reviewed for us a number of times, and whose piece can be read in SFRA review 298 [pdf link].

Niall Harrison is a reader and fan.
No comments yet. Be the first!


%d bloggers like this: