Recent Reviews

Your Face In Mine by Jess Row

reviewed by Keguro Macharia

10 February 2016

I am arrested by "us" and "we" when I encounter them—I wonder who is being addressed, who is being invited, who is being recognized.

The Feminist Utopia Project, edited by Alexandra Brodsky and Rachel Kauder Nalebuff

reviewed by Kate Schapira

08 February 2016

Looking at the world, it may seem that you need to change everything, but "everything" is not something you can change: you have to change this thing, that thing, these things.

Europe at Midnight by Dave Hutchinson

reviewed by Redfern Jon Barrett

05 February 2016

At a time of sorely needed European introspection, Hutchinson presents us in these novels with a worst-case scenario.

Marginalia to Stone Bird by Rose Lemberg

reviewed by Karen Burnham and Sofia Samatar

03 February 2016

Marginalia is about finding the language, creating it if necessary, to live an identity.

The Liminal War and The Entropy of Bones by Ayize Jama-Everett

reviewed by Abigail Nussbaum

01 February 2016

Superheroes are inevitably an instrument of the status quo. Even some of the best and smartest recent uses of the genre have balked at challenging that consensus. In such a cultural landscape, Ayize Jama-Everett's Liminal People novels feel not simply refreshing, but necessary.

The Mammoth Book of Dieselpunk edited by Sean Wallace

reviewed by Alasdair Czyrnyj

29 January 2016

Of all the ephemeral dash-punks, one in particular, "dieselpunk," stands out in its curious endurance.

Yonderland

reviewed by Erin Horáková

27 January 2016

Yonderland suggests that we’ve rediscovered how to make excellent television that can honestly be defined as family programming, after a long, dark dearth of the same.

Upright Beasts by Lincoln Michel

reviewed by Chris Kammerud

25 January 2016

I don't know. Will you love these stories? It's possible.

Ghost Signs by Sonya Taaffe

reviewed by Liz Bourke

22 January 2016

The sheer precision and emotive effectiveness of the poetry is a thing of wonder.

Of Sorrow and Such by Angela Slatter

reviewed by Octavia Cade

20 January 2016

Of Sorrow and Such is very clearly a book of female experiences, of the lives and secrets of women. It's the sort of story I'm predisposed to love. But the more I read, the more I began to wonder if the underlying worldbuilding rests on anything but expectation.

Dragon Heart by Cecelia Holland

reviewed by Kelly Jennings

18 January 2016

The book could have used about 30% more dragon.

The Ship by Antonia Honeywell

reviewed by Shannon Fay

15 January 2016

The Ship examines what it's like to be a member of that "future" generation who has to deal with the mess left behind—while the adults around you live on in ignorant bliss.

Two Views: Updraft by Fran Wilde

reviewed by Alix E. Harrow and A. S. Moser

13 January 2016

Flying people? Bone towers in the sky? An oppressive society that probably needs radical intervention? What could go wrong?

The Last Witness by K. J. Parker

reviewed by Alasdair Czyrnyj

11 January 2016

For longtime readers of K. J. Parker, there is a lot in The Last Witness that is familiar.

Archived Reviews

View older reviews in our Archive, thanks to the kindness of our authors who allow us to keep their material online.