Recent Reviews

Galapagos Regained by James Morrow

reviewed by Alix E. Harrow

29 July 2015

Choosing your next book is a bit like online dating.

Haw by Sean Jackson

reviewed by K. Kamo

27 July 2015

Rather than come across like a trendy vicar trying too hard to get down with what's hip with the kids on the street these days (daddy-o), the metric I'll be using here is: would I recommend this book to my students?

Viper Wine by Hermione Eyre

reviewed by Maureen Kincaid Speller

24 July 2015

Viper Wine itself is as a masque - or perhaps it is an anti-masque. Who is actually the grotesque?

Sisters of the Revolution ed. Ann VanderMeer and Jeff VanderMeer

reviewed by Kari Sperring

22 July 2015

This is a strong and valuable entry in that conversation about genre and gender, culture and context, in which we are all engaged and to which the editors refer in their introduction. And yet, and yet . . .

Ex Machina

reviewed by Rachael Acks

20 July 2015

Ex Machina takes a conceptually simple plot and layers it brilliantly with a set of extremely complex characters and challenging questions about identity, sentience, control, manipulation, and survival. The film begins with Caleb (Domhnall Gleeson), a young programmer at...

Philosophy and Terry Pratchett edited by Jacob Held and James South

reviewed by Foz Meadows

17 July 2015

The whole time I was reading this collection, I couldn’t shake a nagging question: just who, exactly, is the intended audience? Though I’ve read enough academic philosophy to have a reasonable sense of when the content was being, not dumbed down, but simplified for the presumable benefit of a more general readership, that simplification seldom came in the form of explanations tailored to a lay readership. Instead, it often felt more like I was reading summaries or introductions to longer pieces whose audience was assumed to be conversant in the topics under discussion.

Clade by James Bradley

reviewed by Niall Harrison

15 July 2015

Humans, by and large, crave personal connection, yet there is a real sense in which individual experiences will never be sufficient to grasp the whole of what we are doing to our planet.

The Architect's Apprentice by Elif Shafak

reviewed by Chris Lombardo

13 July 2015

The Architect's Apprentice, is that type of book—one which I can neither recommend nor discourage others from reading.

The World Before Us by Aislinn Hunter

reviewed by Daniel Haeusser

10 July 2015

The term 'haunting' could describe The World Before Us, from the affective quality of its prose, to the figurative intrusion or influence of the past upon the present, to the literal presence of the deceased gathered around people and objects.

Magonia by Maria Dahvana Headley

reviewed by Chris Kammerud

08 July 2015

It’s only from her vantage point among the clouds, that Aza eventually grasps something of a deeper sincerity and appreciation for the fragile, indomitable spirit of her family and the whole broken world she left behind.

Avengers: Age of Ultron

reviewed by Rachael Acks

06 July 2015

Age of Ultron delivers a surprising number of deft character moments—all the more important considering the sheer number of characters sharing the screen—and in so doing shows a very human core.

Inside A Silver Box by Walter Mosley

reviewed by Andy Sawyer

03 July 2015

It may be the clash between genre expectations that makes the novel more interesting than many an exercise more firmly based in what we think science fiction is.

The Shore by Sara Taylor

reviewed by Nina Allan

01 July 2015

The different chapters are presented to us somewhat as photographs in a battered album. Some are older than others, the colours faded away almost to monochrome. Others are more recently taken, and still bright.

A God in Ruins by Kate Atkinson

reviewed by Paul Kincaid

29 June 2015

A God in Ruins does not conclude a story but rather opens it out in new and unexpected ways that challenge and, in places, directly contradict what we had read before. Life After Life and A God in Ruins go hand in hand, but they are pulling in opposite directions.

Archived Reviews

View older reviews in our Archive, thanks to the kindness of our authors who allow us to keep their material online.