Recent Reviews

Predestination

reviewed by Jeremy Szal

28 January 2015

When someone mentions time-travel, the room is usually filled with collective groans of not again. We’ve seen all the clichés, all the surprise endings, all the "aha" moments. The End Was The Beginning And None Of This Ever Happened. We loved them, but now we’ve come to hate them. But this smart Australian science-fiction flick doesn’t so much flip these clichés as fill them with bullet holes. Then set them on fire.

I've Got a Time Bomb by Sybil Lamb

reviewed by Ryan Elliott

26 January 2015

The seeming unreliability of the narrative voice swings away from hyperbole or an alternate-universe, and veers towards truth rendered in a kind of personalized code, less expressionistic than it is at heart a vein of realism.

The Wilds by Julia Elliott

reviewed by Stephanie Chan

23 January 2015

The Wilds is a short story collection that brims with untamed energy and exalts in the unknowable shadowland between today and tomorrow.

The Long Mars by Terry Pratchett and Stephen Baxter

reviewed by Mark Granger

21 January 2015

For a third novel in a series, it has to be said that not very much happens in The Long Mars.

The Wrenchies by Farel Dalrymple

reviewed by Phoebe Salzman-Cohen

19 January 2015

Airtight worldbuilding isn't responsible for how vivid and real the world of The Wrenchies is. It's something else.

A Killing in the Sun by Dilman Dila

reviewed by K. Kamo

16 January 2015

A Killing in the Sun is punchy and awkward and well worth reading, but there can be a fine line between problematizing and problematic.

Bitch Planet #1 by Kelly Sue DeConnick and Valentine De Landro

reviewed by Nino Cipri

14 January 2015

Kelly Sue DeConnick and Valentine De Landro have to tread a damned fine line in their new collaboration: Bitch Planet, an updated, feminist sci-fi riff on the women-in-prison trope, officially described as "Margaret Atwood meets Inglorious Basterds".

A Man Lies Dreaming by Lavie Tidhar

reviewed by Maximillian Edwards

12 January 2015

The relationship A Man Lies Dreaming has with Osama is clear, but in many ways this is a better novel.

Vintage Visions: Essays on Early Science Fiction, edited by Arthur B. Evans

reviewed by Karen Burnham

09 January 2015

Vintage Visions is a collection of essays from the pages of the academic journal Science Fiction Studies from the years 1976 to 2010. These sixteen pieces were chosen as ones that covered parts of the history of the field before the Golden Age began in especially interesting and well-written ways.

The Hobbit: The Battle of the Five Armies

reviewed by Adam Roberts

07 January 2015

Hobbit 3 is like Hobbit 2, but more so—a special effects splurge of weightless, affectless fighting and running around.

2014 in Review

reviewed by Our Reviewers

05 January 2015

We asked our reviewers to pick their SF-related highs and lows of 2014—books, films, TV, anything. This is what they said.

Archived Reviews

View older reviews in our Archive, thanks to the kindness of our authors who allow us to keep their material online.