Recent Reviews

Over the Garden Wall

reviewed by Erin Horáková

30 November 2015

The subtext of all these slapdash reviews is, I suppose, that Kids These Days are unfathomable, contradictory aliens: stupid and hungry for EDGINESS. Nah, brah. Kids are like, some people. And also sort of like they were in any other time period. A well-produced piece like OtGW will speak to adults and children because it’s well made, and because there’s a big Venn-diagram overlap in what both groups are interested in. Don’t we know this? I kind of thought we all knew this.

Talos Fest 24-25th October 2015—Chelsea Theatre, London

reviewed by Anna Chapman

27 November 2015

In some ways, science fiction theatre seems so obvious it’s startling that it isn’t more common.

Cyberpunk: Malaysia, edited by Zen Cho

reviewed by K. Kamo

25 November 2015

Genre is of less significance than the milieu the stories share: an anthology of alternate Malaysian future histories, with the present day as the jonbar hinge.

The Beauty by Aliya Whiteley

reviewed by Ryan Elliott

23 November 2015

We should read The Beauty's constructs less as mimetic representations than as symbols or signs.

Sorcerer to the Crown by Zen Cho

reviewed by Marina Berlin

20 November 2015

The lightheartedness of Sorcerer to the Crown allows Cho to delve into some dark places, enriching her story and making it heavy with meaning underneath a surface of quick wit and magical comedy.

Dark Orbit by Carolyn Ives Gilman

reviewed by Shaun Duke

18 November 2015

Whether or not Gilman meant to touch on a modernist convention which assumes language is inadequate to fully relate the senses, the result is that very thing: how do we explain a sense to someone who doesn't share it, and how do we explain how to use a sense when that person finally acquires it?

The Traitor Baru Cormorant by Seth Dickinson

reviewed by Phoebe Salzman-Cohen

16 November 2015

The world we're entering here is wonderfully complicated; but because of who Baru happens to be, an awful lot gets left out that I would really have liked to know.

We Know the Devil by Aevee Bee, Mia Schwarz, and Alec Lambert

reviewed by Benjamin Gabriel

13 November 2015

We Know the Devil is a visual novel about teens, which is to say it is a game about creating the world.

Oracle by Michelle West

reviewed by Electra Pritchett

11 November 2015

I inevitably think of West’s novels whenever I see the latest "Where are the women in epic fantasy?" article or the most recent iteration of the "Hey, women are writing epic fantasy now!" canard making the rounds on Twitter.

Arcadia by Iain Pears

reviewed by Paul Kincaid

09 November 2015

The whole of this particular new Arcadia owes rather too much to Sidney's example, for Pears has borrowed the unwieldiness of the original, the love of arcane reference and symbol, and the penchant for romantic adventure.

Big Hero 6

reviewed by Tom Speelman

06 November 2015

Big Hero 6 has a real, beating heart at the center of it all. Not afraid to be bright. Something comics—and movies—could use more of.

Octavia's Brood: Science Fiction Stories from Social Justice Movements edited by adrienne maree brown and Walidah Imarisha

reviewed by Nino Cipri

04 November 2015

Some of the stories truly do seem visionary, offering up worlds that are sparkling and new.

Back, Belly, & Side by Celeste Rita Baker

reviewed by Subashini Navaratnam

02 November 2015

Pay attention to these stories, Baker seems to be saying, or the act of reading is reduced to nothing.

Archived Reviews

View older reviews in our Archive, thanks to the kindness of our authors who allow us to keep their material online.